On commenting

May15

While I have my own blog, much of what I do in the edublogosphere is commenting on other people’s blogs/posts. My indefatigable efforts to share my opinion (whether desired or not) has lead to an award as a fantastic commenter. Here is my badge, with pride:

Commenter

Considering the source, I’m humbled, and the timing is great because the biggest breakthrough I’ve had lately with my class has been in commenting. I’ve planned and made commenting a goal with my students, and they’ve stepped up to the plate. Here is the weekly main blog post where you can see all the links to past and future comments for my kids. Here is how I’m doing it:

  1. Tell them to read prior week’s comments
  2. Leave messages to them in their comments so they have to or will want to respond
  3. Tell them they have to leave comments
  4. Give them links to find comments easily

My philosophy of blogging is that comments are a key ingredient in a good blog network. I think it’s better to start with commenting, rather than just writing posts of your own. It leads others to your blog, and it lets them see that what you say maybe worthwhile. Also, comments can be the difference between a blog becoming an exercise in monological narcissism and a community. I wanted my students to learn that first. They will have their own My Space pages, and hopefully, their own school blogs as they grow older, but they will also have the basis of good commenting to help make those richer experiences. Eventually, I will nail down the controls and security, and I will have students with their own blogs. I hope that they will still be good commenters even when they have their own blogs.

I have to run to my son’s Open House tonight, but I’ll be handing out my own awards in the next week. I had a wonderful evening yesterday at the pool, reading a tacky romance novel. A few more days of that and I think I’ll be back to normal.

by posted under orchids, web 2.0 | 3 Comments »    
3 Comments to

“On commenting”

  1. May 24th, 2007 at 12:04 am      Reply Glenn Says:

    Alice – You really are a great commenter. Thank you for you insight, thoughts, and most importantly time. 🙂


  2. May 24th, 2007 at 8:03 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

    Thank you (blush). I should have shared that I made your blog a “star” in a recent screencast on using diigo.

    You can see it at:

    video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8047924683253224505

    just add the http, etc. (due to a recent avalanche of spam, edublogs is not allowing full links in comments at this time)

    The quality, alas, is not worthy of your blog. I need to get a better setup or better software than Cam Studio.


  3. May 29th, 2007 at 10:12 am      Reply Glenn Says:

    I thought the video was great. I think that you can tweak the audio and video compression settings in CamStudio to get better quality, but your video wasn’t far off of the quality expected for web videos.

    Thanks for the heads up on diigo. I can’t tell you the amount of time spent going back to see if comments have been replied to or to see where the discussion has gone. I’m going to put this one to work very soon. 🙂


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar