CUE 2009: Closing Keynote with Peter H. Reynolds

March14

Background:

Peter H. Reynolds is a children’s author and artist, best known for works like “North Star”, “ish”, and “The Dot” which make the case for creative expression, and finding your own voice, or means of expression.

My rough notes:

This session was live-blogged via twitter, so here is what I sent:

Peter reynolds giving closing at #cue2009

Peter reynolds “my catalog reflects me, what would your catalog have?”

Kids get confused that there is a right way. We lose our wings, and get them back when we retire and take up painting.

peter reynolds reads from “the dot”

http://ping.fm/p/7Dctk – signed copy of “ish” for my son

Peter reynolds tip 1 the blank page is great piece of software. content comes from you. programming.

Rule #2 use a tablet and pen likes wacom pad me gusta!

Reynolds find tools that remove barriers to creativity.

Reynolds: Color outside the lines be different wear mismatched socks.

Reynolds at #cue2009 give yourself and others time and freedom.

Reynolds at #cue2009 love is the 5th tool. Noticing kids is a way to do this.

btw, I’ve been tweeting rules for this and it should’ve been tools.

Reynolds at #cue2009 enlightened leadership is needed for innovation and creativity.

Reynolds at #cue2009 showing video I am Here he.did for an autism center itls really good with no words at all

Reynolds at #cue2009 wpsa.com is a psa project

My thoughts:

I don’t feel I’m very objective about Peter Reynolds, because he spoke to me intellectually and emotionally in a way that really touches on things I deal have to deal with in my life. The film for SARRC on autism meant a lot to me as the parent of an autistic child. His message, it’s okay to be different, really resonates with me. A lot of “therapy” for autistic kids is to make them “fit in” more, and I’m constantly having to weigh how “normal” I’d like Leroy to be, because part of what I find delightful about his is his unique personality.

Audience

Okay, with that being said, this was really about how we relate to others, and our own creativity. It was not about standards (which I presented on), it was not about analyzing and assessment (at least not in a quatified, large-scale way) as Marzano discussed. It wasn’t even about duct tape (Thornburg’s obsession). If you are not interested in art, children’s books, animation, and creativity, it’s not for you. I gave a one-sentence sum-up to a friend about it, and his response, “well, that was preaching to the choir.” It was, but I think he had a good message, and his stories, illustrations, and film made the point well.

Other stuff:

He has a company, FableVision, that sells animation software (Animation-ish), which I’m trying out now. It’s costs about $60. So far, I like it a lot. It has a really intuitive interface. Also, I’ve bought a bamboo pad (something I’ve wanted for a while) which he recommended, and I’m pretty happy with it so far. It makes drawing on computer MUCH easier.

Links:

by posted under conferences | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar