Week 30 in Lab: Focus on Improving Objectives

April18

Among the many adjustments that have been difficult going from teaching one class with one grade level, is writing appropriate objectives for each grade level. I had been doing something generic, but like many generic templates, I felt like I wasn’t saying anything of substance. Here is what a Sixth Grade standard used to look like:

We had our monthly curriculum meeting, and it was suggested we use the verbs that kids are given on CST testing at their grade level (there are lists of these). I’m not a big test prep freak, but I love good vocabulary development, so this made sense to me intuitively. Here’s what I have now:

They are not perfect yet, but I feel like I’m on a better path. Only time will tell.

Update: I’m interested in feedback, BUT I would like to concentrate on the text with this, NOT the images.

Photo credits:

My Favorite Music…
by nadworks

Built-Rite United States Map Puzzle
by Marxchivist

California Farm
by karmadude

Two Great Tastes That Taste Great Together
by Boeke

Independence Rock
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:DSCN6036_mcoord1850_e.jpg

Under the Canopy
by C-HAD

by posted under Uncategorized | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“Week 30 in Lab: Focus on Improving Objectives”

  1. April 18th, 2009 at 9:25 pm      Reply barbara Says:

    Alice one approach is to write more student centered objectives. What exactly will students know and or be able to do? For example what do you want them to know from the video or learn from the online activity. Eg students will be able to explain 4 reasons farms are important an give examples.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar