Week 22-24 in Class: The Cold/Flu Season Edition

April1

No273 13 Oct 2009 Sneeze
February is rarely a productive month for me in writing about the classroom. Between a multi-day field trip up the hill (where I was sick) and being sick with a head cold that lasted a good three weeks, It’s been enough for me to limp into work most days. This doesn’t mean that the kids, and I, haven’t been busy.

I’ve been perfecting my weekly assessment rubric. I’m coming to the opinion that there is no perfect rubric, but when you’re starting out, there is the temptation to find “the” rubric. I’ve got a workable 5 pointer. I think what makes it work is that I know what I’m looking for (which was helped by the rubric), and probably more importantly, the kids are beginning to understand what I’m looking for.

In other news, students delivered their persuasive speeches. Some were outstanding, some needed more work. I chalk this up to not giving them great preparation. Next year, I’m thinking I’ll have a more structured approach to public speaking.

Photo Credit: No273 13 Oct 2009 Sneeze by mcfarlandmo, on Flickr

by posted under practice/pedagogy | 2 Comments »    
2 Comments to

“Week 22-24 in Class: The Cold/Flu Season Edition”

  1. April 1st, 2013 at 9:48 pm      Reply Shannon Clark Says:

    Isn’t it nice that when something doesn’t work we can always change it for the next time?? I love that about my job!!

    Here’s to you. Feeling better !

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar