Reflection: Quick take

October18

I did not get a reflection on teaching done last week in the rush of recovering from Back to School, too much PD training, etc. I wanted to share a couple thoughts and ask for some input, and for a little encouragement.

Good: Used the Scholastic Flashlight Reader site to have third graders create stories. That worked well.

Not as effective/Need input: Tried to have second graders relate a story orally while I recorded it on PowerPoint. I had some prompts up with “When, Where, Who, What” but they needed a lot of oral prompts. Not effective in my opinion. Better ideas on getting them to do story telling, or is this not developmentally the time for it? I’ll put this to second grade teachers I work with too.

Messy: Sixth graders on their project to make a Perseverance PSA. It seems so messy with the groups sometimes, but then, they get it together and start working. My feeling it that I should roll with the chaos, and not over structure it. Am I out to lunch?

by posted under practice/pedagogy | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar