Relfections on Session 2

July1

Fortunately after that, I did get into a presentation in the next session, and I only had to get there about 40 minutes ahead of time (the number dropped as the day wore on). Also, the ONLY handout I got was a discount coupon, a business card, and a button. People are putting materials online, and saving trees. I appreciated that greatly.

Off Task Web Sites

This presentation was by Charlene Chausis. It was a solid session, somewhere after the basics of Web 2.0, and an appetizer plate style presentation, with lots of links, and resources provided. The thing that is a problem with such big session spaces is that it really inhibits audience participation, but I didn’t let that stop me, I raised my hand, and added my two cents whenever possible. Charlene overcame some of the deficiency of the venue by asking for us to participate in the last part, sharing our favorite resources, she also invited us to update the wiki that the session was based on. This session did cover a lot of territory I already know, but there were some sites I wasn’t aware of, and they will be useful in my work for Instructify. I don’t know if I’ll use them in the classroom, but they will be great for productivity, and that is what the session was designed for more than anything. This was one of the best resource links presentations that I’ve been too (she had us sharing what we knew), but I really need to move onto discussions about projects more. Still if this is my one “cool tools” session it was very well executed.

by posted under conferences | 3 Comments »    
3 Comments to

“Relfections on Session 2”

  1. July 4th, 2008 at 9:07 am      Reply Charlene Says:

    Hi Alice
    Thanks again for your contributions and live-blogging during the session. I loved your idea about using Jott for recording notes after special ed meetings. Heck, I just love Jott!

    It appears that a similar idea was mentioned by Hall Davidson during his session on using cell phones in schools “How about using Jott to document interventions for RTI – use Jott to send an email to yourself” as live-blogged by Hank Thiele at http://henrythiele.blogspot.com/2008/07/hall-davidson-cellphones-in-schools.html

    The large venue was a bit of a challenge for BYOL. I wasn’t particularly fond of having to lead participants from a stage — I’m usually more of a “walk-around, lets work together,” type of person. Perhaps round tables, in a slightly smaller room, might have made it a bit less formal and easier to collaborate with one another.


  2. July 4th, 2008 at 12:32 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

    Charlene, that was NO fault of your own, there were just a lot of people. I think more smaller sessions, and more streaming, and facilitation of outsiders through links like CoverItLive would have made this conference serve more, but more intimately.

    I’m sorry I missed Hall Davidson’s I’ll have to watch the video and Henry’s live blog. I’m glad he shared that tip about RTI ;-).

    Alas, I have broken the LED screen on my cell, and it won’t be replaced until Monday, sigh! I was hoping to mobile blog this trip to Boise.


  3. July 4th, 2008 at 12:33 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

    Oh, also, I noticed that in some other later BYOL sessions, folks had others helping out to facilitate and give assistance. I’m always willing ;-).


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar