Reflection on Day One at ILC

October15

This is a much smaller affair in terms of turnout than previous Ed Tech Conferences, but it’s let me see more. See more people, see more things, and that’s good.

First, I got to see Collette Cassinelli, Dan Meyer, and I must confirm, the boy was not lying about his height, he is a tall ‘un. I was not able to meet up with some folks I was looking forward to seeing (like Ken Shelton and Derrall Garrison, who were unable to attend).

I feel like I’m getting to the point when not only do I know what is being shared in many of the sessions I attend, but I could probably do the presentation myself. They are often good presentations, so I’m not complaining about the presentations or the presenters. I feel like I need to change some of my strategies for which sessions to attend. Complicating factors include that I’m the eyes and ears for my site here, and I need to “bring ideas back to them”, so I do need to make sure I’m up on the latest versions of stuff I already know about.

My big takeaway from today? Bridging the gap – between the scaffolding, building background structured and standards based ELD practices that I presented on, and the higher level project-based critical thinking that Cheryl Lemke talked about. Maybe she’s right, and it’s not just the kids that need scaffolding to this type of instruction, but educators too.

I’ll do another post about the individual sessions soon.

One Comment to

“Reflection on Day One at ILC”

  1. October 15th, 2008 at 11:21 pm      Reply Ken Says:

    Sorry I missed you, but thanks for blogging about your experiences. I have heard nothing but good stuff since the conference is not overrun and people are not being locked out of sessions


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar