Dear Mr. Landshark, I really don’t care what you think about my career choice…

August10

by posted under politics/policy | 23 Comments »    
23 Comments to

“Dear Mr. Landshark, I really don’t care what you think about my career choice…”

  1. August 10th, 2009 at 7:50 am      Reply Natalie Wojinski Says:

    I read Sarah Fine’s article as well. I am dismayed at the number of bright, young teachers who are leaving the profession. I agree with you that in the US, compensation in a profession is tied to the degree of respect. Or, rather, the perceived measure of respect by society is the fullness of one’s purse.

    Truthfully, I have always been bothered by this. Years ago, right out of college, I spoke with a friend who had just landed his first corporate job. His base salary was twice what mine was (and he was eligible for performance bonuses). He built bombs for a living. I teach children. We’re both funded by the government. Go figure.


  2. August 10th, 2009 at 10:29 am      Reply Lorraine Richardson Says:

    We need long-term answers and not interim solutions or band-aids. Teaching is an occupation that demands dedication, commitment, and constancy.
    Whether through attrition or through layoffs, repeated turnover disrupts the stability, continuity, and cohesiveness of a school and negatively impacts student achievement. Institutional memory for the content pedagogy, testing programs, and extracurricular activities is an illusion when schools and classrooms become a revolving door.
    We must build teaching into a profession, like law and medicine, that allows our brightest and our best to do good and to do well, to meld idealism and self-interest encouraging our best and our brightest to want to stay. A paid mentoring opportunity teaching is NOT.


  3. August 10th, 2009 at 12:23 pm      Reply sheasmith Says:

    Ms. Fine’s story is interesting. And, the subsequent comments here are intriguing.

    However, I do have one problem with Ms. Fine’s article: her use of the word “burnout.” It is a word I hear frequently in education circles. And, my feeling is that by using this word, there is an assumption that one was previously on fire.

    Ms. Fine may have been “on fire” at one point in her teaching career. Sadly, it appears to me that she became more absorbed with respect (or her perceived lack of respect) and the size of her paycheck.


    • August 10th, 2009 at 12:43 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

      Yeah, but I think some of her points do resonate. I think there were two parts to her respect argument, the lack of respect within the profession, and respect from outsiders. That stuff about having work dismissed by admins will eat away at morale. I don’t think we can underestimate that. This is something I’ve experienced, and I think it is a real problem in a lot of professions, but contributes to high rates of teacher attrition especially in urban schools.

      Strangely, it seems to be part of the same problem for attrition in the legal profession:

      While some believe that a desire for more money, status and autonomy remains the primary motivator, others think that many of today’s practitioner-defectors leave firms first and foremost to claim greater professional camaraderie and meaning. In my experience as a coach and consultant to lawyers, I’ve heard more and more practitioners express a willingness to sacrifice prestige and pay for fit and connection.

      So I think we need connections, which involves respect. I’m not as worried about respect from outsiders, but more from within schools and districts.

      If teaching has a high attrition rate, what about administrators? I went thorough 4 in my first year teaching in Oakland (I AM NOT KIDDING). How can we build the type of camaraderie that Fine cites as necessary to run an urban school well with that going on?

      Better pay cannot be ignored, but neither can working conditions, otherwise we’ll just end up like associates at top law firms, pimping our souls for a paycheck.


  4. August 10th, 2009 at 12:58 pm      Reply Bill Ferriter Says:

    Hey Alice,

    I’m really enjoying this strand of conversation and your comparisons to attrition and respect in the legal profession—one that we often throw about when debating whether or not teaching qualifies as a profession.

    For me, I think the key to compensation is creating a range of additional roles that teachers can fill to be full-time employees if they need/want additional compensation. Overall, I’m satisfied with my monthly paycheck. The hitch is that I only get 10 of them!

    I’d jump at the chance to work as a professional development provider for two additional months a year. Or to be paid to study my practice for two additional months a year. Or to be paid a competitive salary to tutor struggling students for two additional months each year. Or to fill an internship at a local business that does work in the field that I teach for two months each year.

    The problem is that none of those opportunities are available to me.

    An easy first step towards redesigning compensation would be to develop a few hybrid roles for the teachers who want to stay in the classroom but need to increase their salaries. Let’s ditch the thousands that our districts invest in external consultants and full time professional developers and turn that money over to teachers who are looking for ways to make more.

    Not every teacher will bite. Some like sitting around the pool during the summer with their children or traveling with their spouses.

    But for some of us, hybrid roles can extend our life as practitioners.

    Any of this make sense?
    Bill


    • August 10th, 2009 at 1:17 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

      Stipended pay is the “safest” route to take on incentive pay. I did some grant writing this summer, that should have been compensated (some of this is my own stupidity). I do that training things myself, but not on a full time basis. Lots of training is up in the air for next year. Honestly, I’m having to hold off, and “ration” how much time I devote to training. I worked almost two jobs last year between teaching, helping run an after-school program, doing trainings, and doing some work for my husband. Take a look at what you are doing for “free” and figure out how to get paid would be my advice. You should still do some free if it will improve you, but try not over do that?

      I think there are not a lot of easy answers out there. I think base pay needs another pick me up, but that will be hard in these times.

      I really liked that Edurati piece on Race to the Top article, and I’m pretty fussy about what I like to read on that topic.

      Good luck to you Bill! We’re all watching to see how things turn out.


  5. August 10th, 2009 at 1:23 pm      Reply Hadass Eviatar Says:

    Thanks for pointing to the discussion, Bill! Fascinating.

    Alice, I think I know more former law-firm associates than I do former teachers ;-). Many of them are young women who became dissatisfied with being pushed, pushed, pushed for billable hours with little feedback or support. Sound familiar? However, their leaving the law firm did not necessarily mean they stopped working as lawyers.

    One thing that some of my friends have been able to do is practise law from their own homes or for government (or semi-government) agencies, thereby making less money but also majorly decreasing their stress.

    I’m wondering how far we can push this analogy. Are we looking at charter schools or homeschooling groups as an alternative to teaching in urban schools?

    Just rambling, Hadass.


    • August 10th, 2009 at 1:36 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

      Well, it sounds like Ms. Fine was teaching at a charter. I don’t know if it was unionized (the Edurati piece seemed to assume not). What strikes me with charters is that they seem to not use the flexibility to pay less for few hours from teachers (which in elementary could be made up with having more prep/specialty classes), but instead have teachers work longer, sometimes for more money, sometimes for less. My son is in a charter than has higher pay, but lower class size (they have few custodial services, etc. to safe money) with 25-to-1 in middle (grade 6-8).

      I’m building in some flex into my schedule (easier with a prep job). Rather than scheduling all the PD after school in a grant proposal I wrote, I asked for other trainers to do some of that, and set up school day trainings, and my going into classrooms, and having them pay for a sub for me. I’d make more money (what Bill wants to do) if I did after school trainings, but I don’t want to be “burnt out” (sorry Shea, lol), so I’d rather skip the money, get a sub and do it during the school day.


  6. August 10th, 2009 at 2:26 pm      Reply Tom Krawczewicz Says:

    Great conversation. Thanks for getting it going.

    Teaching is a very difficult, challenging, and somewhat solitary profession where the outcomes and results aren’t always readily or immediately apparent. At the same time you are dealing with upwards of 30 different personalities and moving all of them toward one agenda. Not everybody can work under those conditions every day for an entire school year. But those of us who have been teaching for a while know that there are MANY rewards along the way, each and every one of those days.

    I am not sure that paying new teachers a boatload of money will keep them in the profession or attract the best and brightest. If you are working just for the paycheck, don’t you think those 30 kids will pick up on that immediately? I just can’t see how that could possibly lead to success in the classroom. The best teachers I had, bar none, cared about me and my success. I knew it and performed accordingly.

    I think the respect and support must be there from the administration for these young teachers. Our society has convinced many of our best and brightest that money earns respect. A young teacher with that impression probably needs to find support that what he or she is doing is worthy of respect. I find it interesting that this discussion has made several mentions of the respect afforded lawyers as opposed to teachers. But when it comes right down to it, I can not think of one “teacher” joke but have heard many, many lawyer jokes.


    • August 10th, 2009 at 4:25 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

      I imagine paying “beaucoup” bucks would not help, because we see a high attrition rate in the top end of the legal profession in spite of over-sized compensation, but better pay would surely be in order?

      I like your last paragraph, frankly, I think educators get a lot more respect than lawyers from the general public. I thin the respect within a site or a district is really what can be critical for retention. If I had any advice I would have given Ms. Fine it would have been to look for a new job. I’ve done that myself when I had incipient burnout, and it worked a charm. These are very difficult times to employ that option though.

      One thing I like is that doctors and lawyers do is that their interns are paid, whereas you and I pay for the privilege of providing free labor to another teacher with no guarantee we’ll get anything out of the deal when we “student teach”.

      I’m not sure if this would be a good or bad idea, but the professional organizations governing the legal profession are quasi-independent of the state, and their members are all in the profession. As you can see from the Commission on Teacher credentialing in my state, there are “teacher” and public representatives, and some elected representatives who are “ex officio” members. (http://www.ctc.ca.gov/commission/commissioners.html vs. http://www.calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_generic.jsp?cid=10103&id=1421) almost like we can’t be trusted to police ourselves. I note that the state medical board has member appointed by politicians, but almost everyone is a doctor, the exception currently being two JDs (lawyers). Let’s see how that stirs the pot, lol.


      • August 11th, 2009 at 2:01 pm      Reply Ian H. Says:

        I think your last point is the most interesting one – there is a difference between respect from the lay public (which, to some extent, I agree teachers have), and respect from policy makers.

        Things like NCLB and zero-tolerance policies make it obvious to me that those creating the policies do not respect teachers’ professionalism, and the appointment of non-teachers to the highest positions in education reinforces the lack of respect for our ideas.

        When comparing the teaching profession to the legal profession in terms of respect, it might be interesting to look at the reforms handed down by national and state authorities to each group. For years, there has been talk of reforming tort law, in particular, but nothing has ever come of it. By contrast, NLCB and tying teacher pay to student performance on standardized exams was implemented without consultation with, and despite the wishes of teachers.

        Is it more important that we are respected by our neighbours, or by our bosses?


        • August 11th, 2009 at 7:46 pm      Reply alicemercer Says:

          So here is my follow-up…is that respect for lawyers, or fear? Is it lack of respect for teachers, or a need to keep us in our “place”? How much of this is due to the perceived gender identity (female) of teachers?


  7. August 11th, 2009 at 9:55 pm      Reply Hadass Eviatar Says:

    Alice – bingo. Bunch of uppity women, we teachers. Like nurses. Get paid way less than doctors.

    I think I can only talk in 140 chars or less right now ;-).


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar