My Holiday Present to Readers 2010: DIY Doc Camera

December28

I’m likely to be needing my own document camera in the next school year, so I decided to try something that I had heard about, making my own DIY document camera. I had been nagging Brian Van Dyck for schematics on how he had done this using PVC piping as a frame for a Logitech camera. He didn’t have a chance to get back to me before I saw this link, Learning Curves: Afternoon Craft Project, which got me thinking…

I went to Frys to find a “barrel-shaped” web-cam. I went for a low-end HD model that promised 1240pi resolution (don’t quote me on that number, it was something above 1000, and 780 appears to be the cut-off for HD).

I got it home and took an old gooseneck lamp apart, removing the electrical parts and wires, and shade.  I tried a couple different methods to “attach” it (duct tape, glue gun, magnets). You can see some of the “remains” from the duct tape adhesive in the picture below, lol. I wondered if removing the “stand” would make a better attachment. It had a ball hinge, so I pulled it apart.

IMG_20101228_163302

I then put it up to the opening at the top of the goose-neck, and lo and behold, it clicked in and fit perfectly!

IMG_20101228_163422

IMG_20101228_163210

I also spent about $5 on a USB extension, because the web cam cord was only about 3 feet, which won’t be long enough to connect to a computer, etc.

IMG_20101228_163446

Here is my video walk through of the project:

How to Create Your Own Document Camera from A Mercer on Vimeo.

by posted under web 2.0 | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“My Holiday Present to Readers 2010: DIY Doc Camera”

  1. December 29th, 2010 at 9:28 am      Reply MisterHay Says:

    Cool. We’ve built a couple similar to this using a bolt or velcro to hold the camera on the lamp. http://blog.eipstech.com/2010/06/more-lamp-based-document-cameras.html

    And the resolution of the camera you used is probably 720p (1280×720).


Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Holiday Present to Readers 2010: DIY Doc Camera | Reflections on Teaching « Parents 4 democratic Schools

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

rssrss
rssrss

Links of Interest


License

Creative Commons License
All of Ms. Mercer's work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Skip to toolbar